Category: mp3

Brother - Archive - Take My Head

Published 15.11.2019 by Virisar

Label: Independiente - ISOM 10CD • Format: CD Limited Edition • Country: UK • Genre: Electronic • Style: Breaks, Downtempo
Download Brother - Archive - Take My Head

You make me feel 2. The Way you love me 3. Brother 4. Well known Sinner 5. The Pain gets worse 6. Woman 7. Cloud in the Sky 8. Take my Head 9. Love in Summer Rest my Head on you Total time Whereas debut album "Londinium" definitely has similarities with Massive Attack, this album is more based on rock composition, without the rock though, but just to give you a bit of an impression. The hip-hop vocals have Brother - Archive - Take My Head vanished and this Higher Perception - Pati Yang - Jaszczurka. Although most of the songs are nothing but progressive, there's still a few excellent soundscapes included here.

First of all the opening track You Brother - Archive - Take My Head me feel with its eerie sounding instrumentation and beautiful vocals all vocals are female on this record. What's a nice thing to notice is that the recurring melody in the song You make me feel is reprised at the end of the album during the titletrack of the album Take my Head. Coincidentally this is also perhaps the most experimental and dark song on the album.

Although most of the songs still have their origins in the trip-hop scene, there's already a sign for Archive's future more successful blend of electronic soundscapes and rock music. I am not going to say say that their sophomore work is more proggy, but at least the female vocals, a more rocking angle at Brother - Archive - Take My Head , the melodies of some songs "You Make Feel" and some fine ballads "Brother" or "Pain Gets Worse" although the latter sounds childish and mellowish are much more pleasant than what was available on their debut.

At times, the sound is a bit "garage oriented like during the weak "Way You Love Me". There are also some similarities with the band "Garbage" which I liked very much during "Well Known Sinner".

Their characteristic heavy sound combined with lighter passages is quite well imitated. Some cold melancholic mood with "Cloud In The Sky". The mellotron provides some Scandinavian flavour which I like very much. But so far, most of the songs are ballad-oriented and a bit more dynamism would have been welcome.

The last three numbers of this album are quite average especially the instrumental "Love In Summer". Globally I rate this album with two stars. But this is a serious improvement in comparison with their debut. If you like a softer version of "Garbage", you might well give a try. That's what this album is about. Released init would prove to be another one-off before the band 信じてる - CHIBASTATION - The Chibastation (File, Album) again and moved to a more progressive sound.

But all along, they kept aspects of trip-hop in their sound. Suzanne's vocals were top-notch and fit the music perfectly, adding to the texture of the album. There were a few tracks that were a bit corny like "Woman" and the repetitive, robotic "Take My Head" Power (Strength In Numbers) - Tom Cochrane & Red Rider - Trapeze: The Collection, but most of them were a nice and fresh sounding pop, for the most part.

There is nothing prog about this album, but it does hint at some of the sounds that the band would explore in years to come. There is a nice upbeat and danceable sound in "You Make Me Feel", an almost rave sounding "Well Known Sinner" that takes a sudden left turn in the middle moving to a slower and darker sound. There is the beautiful and heart-felt ballad "The Pain Gets Worse" that has some amazing layered harmonies and symphonic textures later in the song.

Overall, it is an okay album that merits playing once in a while, but it is not progressive in any sense. In fact, the previous album was probably more progressive, even though it is complete trip hop. The turn to progressive music would come with the next album, but this still achieves a 3 star status nevertheless. Not prog as we know it, really. You'd have to wait for their 'You all Look the Same to me' for that. But the proggy influences are heard in the textures here, in music that has more in common with Massive Attack Camouflage - Live In Dresden the trip-hop scene.

Some of the Pink Floydy elements that were apparent on teh keybo You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not. Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker. Latest members reviews Not prog as we know it, Brother - Archive - Take My Head . You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing use forum credentials.

Forum user Forum password. Archive - Take My Head Independente


With You - Demis Roussos - Souvenirs, Zijn 16 Grootste Hits, Jomanda - Never, Orange Juice - The Orange Juice, Thingsll Never Be The Same - Spacemen 3 - Losing Touch With Your Mind...

Read more posts about mp3


  1. Vutaur   Moogurn 23.11.2019
    Jun 08,  · Take My Head is an odd album, even for a band who are known for taking unpredictable left-turns. Fans of the group's expansive, electronic rock and trip-hop may be put off by some of the more commercial tracks on the album; similarly, those who find refuge in the records sincere ballads may find the later tracks that bit too odd.3/5(7).
  2. Arakus   Vudolabar 23.11.2019
    Take My Head Archive. Released June 7, Brother Lyrics. 4. Well Known Sinner Lyrics. 5. The Pain Gets Worse Lyrics. 6. Woman Lyrics. 7. Cloud In The Sky.
  3. Yolmaran   Sarr 17.11.2019
    View credits, reviews, tracks and shop for the CD release of Take My Head on Discogs/5().
  4. Murg   Mezishakar 23.11.2019
    "Take my Head" shows Archive entering lesser electronic grounds. Whereas debut album "Londinium" definitely has similarities with Massive Attack, this album is more based on rock composition, without the rock though, but just to give you a bit of an impression. The hip-hop vocals have completely vanished and this is. well. simply excellent!/5.
  5. Goltirr   Nasho 19.11.2019
    Find album reviews, stream songs, credits and award information for Take My Head - Archive on AllMusic -
  6. Mim   Maujind 16.11.2019
    Features Song Lyrics for Archive's Take My Head album. Includes Album Cover, Release Year, and User Reviews.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *